Periods of English Literature

Periods of English Literature

1. Old English (Anglo-Sexon) 600-1200 Beowulf

2. Middle English (1200-1500) – Geoffrey Chaucer, Charles Bacon, Robert Gloucester, John Gower, John Wycliffe

3. The English Renaissance (1500-1660)/ (1485-1603) – John Skelton, Thomas More

a. Elizabethan Period (1558-1603) – William Shakespeare, Sir, Philip Sidney, George Herbert.

b. Jacobean Period (1603-1625) – John Donne, William Shakespeare, George Herbert

c. Caroline Period (1625-1649) – John Milton, John Ford

4. The Restoration Period (1660-1700) – John Dryden

5. Eighteenth Century (1700-1800) – Alexander Pope, Jonathon Swift, Samuel Johnson.

6. Romanticism (1785-1830) – William Wordsworth, S.T. Coleridge, Jane Austen.

7. Victorian Period (1830-1901) – Charles Dickens, George Eliot, Robert Browning, Alfred Lord Tennyson

8. Modern Period (1901-1960) – James Joyce, H.G. Wells, D.H. Lawrence, T.S. Eliot

9. Post Modern and Contemporary Period (1960–)



Skip to comment form

  1. i completely agree with you.

  2. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

    • Aracema on July 31, 2012 at 6:18 am

    hi, great post. i really admire your work and i

    • Diane on August 3, 2012 at 2:33 am

    i found this topic very interesting if you have more to teach us about this subject please post.

    • convertible car seat reviews on August 6, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on car seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.